Representative Image
If a user removes a conversation, it will be deleted from the chat history and scheduled for deletion by OpenAI in 30 days.
“Users cannot retrieve deleted conversations through the ChatGPT interface, APIs or Support,” says OpenAI. OpenAI says deleted chats cannot be retrieved through the ChatGPT interface, APIs or Support. ChatGPT users can manage their chat history in different ways. Such actions include the removal of unwanted conversations, archiving the required conversations, and other actions. This prevents users from retrieving conversations they may have deleted by mistake. If a conversation appears missing, users should check a few things first. Here are all the details that you need to know about managing your ChatGPT chat history: No. This also applies to conversations deleted using the Delete all chats option under Settings > Data controls. If the conversation history isn’t complete, you can refresh ChatGPT or log out and log back in. OpenAI also advises you to visit their service status page if there are any ongoing incidents. If ChatGPT has used synced data from connected apps such as Google Drive, Gmail or Calendar in a conversation, deleting that conversation also removes the connected app data retained within it from the account, subject to standard retention and legal requirements.

